Argyll & Bute Council

Declaration of Results

This report is the Declaration of Results script for Returning Officer.

Contest Name

Ward 8 - Isle of Bute

I will now declare the result of the election in the Ward 8 - Isle of Bute. There are 3 Councillors to be elected.

The electorate was 4,866 and the number of ballot papers received was 2,363 giving a percentage turnout of 48.6%. There were 32 rejected ballot papers. The quota of votes for a candidate to be elected was 583.

The number of first preference votes for each of the candidates was:

Candidate Name	Affiliation	Number of First Preference Votes
Fraser GILLIES	Independent	202
Reeni KENNEDY-BOYLE	Scottish National Party (SNP)	591
Dawn MALCOLM	Scottish Labour Party	101
Liz MCCABE	Independent	553
Derek John MCFARLANE	Scottish Liberal Democrats	25
Robert MCGOWAN	Alba Party for Independence	55
Jean Murray MOFFAT	Independent	320
Ewan STUART	Scottish Greens - Think Global Act Local	70
Peter WALLACE	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	414
	Total	2,331

After application of the Election Rules, I declare that the following are elected as Councillors for the Ward 8 - Isle of Bute:

Candidate Name	Affiliation	Stage at which Candidate was Elected
Reeni KENNEDY-BOYLE	Scottish National Party (SNP)	1
Liz MCCABE	Independent	5
Peter WALLACE	Scottish Conservative and Unionist	9

Argyll & Bute Council

Declaration of Results

This report is the Declaration of Results script for Returning Officer.

Of the total ballot papers, the following were rejected and not counted on account of:

Rule 44(1) Adjudication Rejection Reason Number
